2

If You Liked This Album, Read This Book

Listening to music and reading not only can go together but can make a fantastic pairing, intensifying both experiences. In the spirit of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, Kiara Garrett has created a list of book recommendations and some of the Best Hip-Hop and R&B albums to pair with them.  If you do not think it is possible or appropriate to read and listen to music at the same time, look away now; if not, check out the If You Like This Album, Read This Book recommendations list.

BooksJay Z – 4:44 | Junot Diaz -This Is How You Lose Her

BooksSolange – A Seat at the Table | Sandra Cisneros – The House on Mango Street

BooksKendrick Lamar – Damn | Ta-Nehisi Coates – The Beautiful Struggle

 

BooksKendrick Lamar – To Pimp a Butterfly | Ta-Nehisi Coates – Between the World and Me

BooksBeyonce – Lemonade | Zora Neale Hurston – Their Eyes Were Watching God

BooksDrake – Nothing Was The Same | Kwame Alexander – Solo

BooksRihanna – ANTi | Toni Morrison – God Help the Child

BooksLupe Fiasco – The Cool | John Lewis – March (Book One)

BooksKanye West – The Life of Pablo | Mychal Denzel Smith – Invisible Man, Got The Whole World Watching

BooksJ. Cole – 4 Your Eyez Only | Jesmyn Ward – Men We Reaped

BooksUsher – Confessions | Tayari Jones – Silver Sparrow

BooksMigos – Culture | Jade Change – The Wangs vs the World

BooksSZA – Ctrl | Janet Mock – Surpassing Certainty (What My Twenties Taught Me)

BooksErykah Badu – Baduizm | Nicola Yoon – The Sun is Also a Star

Books2 Chainz – Pretty Girls Like Trap Music | Ibi Zoboi – American Street

BooksChildish Gambino – Awaken My Love | Margaret Wilkerson Sexton – A Kind of Freedom

BooksThe Internet – Ego Death | Benjamin Alire Saenz – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

BooksChance the Rapper – Coloring Book | Daniel Jose Older – Shadowshaper

BooksCardi B – Bodak Yellow | Lilliam Rivera – The Education of Margo Sanchez

Do you agree? Have you tried another excellent book and music pairing you’d like to recommend? Please do so in the comments.

 




There are no comments

Add yours

Translate »